Wednesday, February 1, 2012

The Five Stages of Mechanics

Stage 1: Denial:
  •  I can stand in the fire, it won't really hurt.
  •  Why can't the healer just heal me through it?
  •  I am sure there has to be a way we can ignore this mechanic.
Raiders often found in this stage:
  1. The New Raider: 
  2. The Bad Raider:
  3. The Slow Learning Raider:
  • I don't know how to do this.
  • Can someone explain the mechanic?
  • I'm not sure how much of a help I am going to be.

Stage 2: Anger:
  •  I moved but it still killed me, this game sucks.
  •  This game hates me it keeps targeting me.
  •  I give up /ragequit.
Raiders often found in this stage: 
  1. The Carried Raider:
  2. The Overconfident Raider:
  3. The Instant Gratification Raider:
  • I never wipe with my group like this.
  • You all suck, I am 7/8 HM25 on my main.
  • How are you even capable of typing in your log in information you are so stupid.

Stage 3: Bargaining:
  • Please just target me for once instead of the mage or we will wipe again.
  • If you don't target me this time I will never complain again.
  • Please let us just beat this once, once is all I ask, please.
Raiders often found in this stage:
  1. The Casual Raider:
  2. The Part Time Raider:
  3. The Hit or Miss Raider:
  • Lets just have some fun with it and we will down a few bosses.
  • It we get lucky with the xxxx we can get this down.
  • Lets try a different approach.

Stage 4: Depression:
  • I'm never going to be able to do this.
  • I don't think I want to play this game any more.
  • I don't think I want to play any game now.
Raiders often found in this stage: 
  1. The Hard Core Raider:
  2. The Not as Good as They Think Raider:
  3. The Superhero Raider:
  • We did not get world (server) first, we are just not good enough.
  • I don't care if we wipe 10,000 times, we need to get this down tonight.
  • If you are not perfect then you shouldn't be playing.

Stage 5: Acceptance:
  • Okay, this is what it is going to do and this is how I need to react.
  • I am ready for it this time, so it will not take me by surprise.
  • Once I learn it I will never need to learn it again so I am ready to learn.
Raiders often found in this stage: 
  1. The Competent Raider:
  2. The Ex Hardcore Raider:
  3. The Better Than Casual Casual Raider:
  • Okay, here is how the fight goes for those that do not know it.
  • If you look for this action it will help you.
  • Little known fact, this ability really helps during phase 2.

When learning new mechanics, we all go through phases.

No comments:

Post a Comment